Key statistics

Welcome to the website for Cornhill Ward, one of the Wards which make up the City of London, otherwise known as the ‘Square Mile’. Each Ward is represented on the Court of Common Council, the decision making body for the City of London Corporation.

This website is hosted for the benefit of Ward voters specifically and generally for anyone who takes an interest in the Ward, wishes to learn more about it, or be kept informed of current developments by virtue of subscribing to the website.

The City Corporation provides local authority and a wide range of other services to the residents and workers it serves. It (principally through the Lord Mayor and Chairman of Policy and Resources) speaks up internationally for UK based financial and professional services businesses. It manages thousands of acres of open space within the City and beyond (e.g. Hampstead Heath, Epping Forest, Burnham Beeches) as well as three markets (Smithfield for meat, Billingsgate for fish and New Spitalfields for fruit and vegetables). The City Corporation also manages the Heathrow Animal Reception Centre, the Barbican Centre and the Guildhall School of Music & Drama, as well as running its own police force, the leading national police force for dealing with economic crime.

Electoral System

Elections take place every 4 years. The last elections to Common Council took place in March 2017. Voting is by secret ballot at a local polling station (The polling station for Cornhill Ward is at St.Michael’s Church, Cornhill) or by postal ballot in exactly the same way as in parliamentary and local government elections and candidates are governed by identical rules relating to conduct and campaign funding. All residents are eligible to vote and taking into account the unique nature of the modern City there is provision for workers of City firms to participate also. City worker voters are allocated in proportion to the number of employees but every business is eligible to nominate at least one elector. Electoral registers are updates annually every year between October and December.

The results of the most recent elections:


Joseph James Batty (Labour Party) 20
Peter Gerard Dunphy (Independent) 92 (E)
Stephen Decatur Haines (Independent) 85 (E)
Ian Christopher Norman Seaton (Independent) 77 (E)
(E) denotes elected
Turnout: 29.2%

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s